GALLERY CLOSED AT THIS TIME - Inuk Style

January 19

  • Admission: $12.00 | FREE for WAG members
  • Time: 11:00 AM

Inuit fashion designers are becoming increasingly popular and in demand - and to celebrate the next generation of Inuit designers, this exhibition will look at fashionable accessories and jewellery from generations past.


Drawn from the collections of the Winnipeg Art Gallery and the Government of Nunavut's Fine Art Collection, Inuk Style presents a dynamic range of clothing items spanning the Western to the Eastern regions of the Canadian Arctic.


Historically, many seamstresses learned from a young age to sew and to make their own clothing from skins -either caribou or seal skin. In celebration of the next generation of Inuit designers, this exhibition also presents a selection of fashionable accessories and jewelry handcrafted with delicate care and precision using sewing skills passed down through many generations. From the beaded fringes on amautiit, to the carved caribou antler beads, Inuit have put much of their own identity into these wearable works of art.


The Government of Nunavut Fine Arts Collection holds a large number of jewellery and fashionable accessories that have been handcrafted with much delicate care - from carving bone and antler beads for necklaces, to ivory hair combs and pins.


Pictured: Monak Katoteenik. Mittens, 1976. wool, wool duffle, wool yarn, embroidery thread, fur; (a) : 40 x 26.5 x 6 cm; (b) : 40 x 26.5 x 6 cm. Government of Nunavut Fine Art Collection. On long-term loan to the Winnipeg Art Gallery, 2.76.22 ab. Photo: Lianed Marcoleta

Upcoming Dates:

  • Tuesday, January 19
  • Wednesday, January 20
  • Thursday, January 21
  • Friday, January 22
  • Saturday, January 23
  • Sunday, January 24
  • Monday, January 25
  • Tuesday, January 26
  • Wednesday, January 27
  • Thursday, January 28